Critic’s Choice

Thu Apr 11, 2019 at 10:14 am
By Edward Reichel

Vassily Sinaisky

This weekend’s Utah Symphony concerts focus on Central and Eastern Europe.

On the program is one of Hungarian composer Zoltan Kodály’s most frequently played works, Dances of Galanta. Rounding out the evening are two Russian works: Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 12, “The Year 1917,” written in 1961 and dedicated to the memory of Vladimir Lenin; and Sergei Rachmaninoff’s lesser known Piano Concerto No. 4.

On the podium is renowned Russian conductor Vassily Sinaisky. Soloing in the Rachmaninoff is the Macedonian pianist Simon Trpčeski.

The concerts will take place 7:30 p.m. Friday and 5:30 p.m. Saturday in Abravanel Hall. There will also be a Finishing Touches Open Rehearsal 10 a.m. Friday in Abravanel Hall.; 801-355-2787.

Leave a Comment