Critic’s Choice

Thu Feb 06, 2020 at 8:43 am
By Edward Reichel
Joyce Yang

After last weekend’s demanding program that featured Richard Strauss’s Eine Alpensinfonie, this weekend’s Utah Symphony concerts are positively pops-like.

On the program are a trio of well-known audience favorites, opening with Bernstein’s “Three Dance Episodes” from the 1949 film On the Town, the music of which is partly based on the composer’s ballet score Fancy Free. Also on the program are Gershwin’s Concerto in F, for piano and orchestra and Dvorák’s Symphony No. 8.

The soloist is Korean pianist Joyce Yang, a frequent guest artist in Abravanel Hall. On the podium is Thierry Fischer.

The concerts will take place 7:30 p.m. Thursday at Noorda Center for the Performing Arts, Orem, and 7:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday in Abravanel Hall.; 801-355-2787.

Leave a Comment